Facts and Statistics


  • The levee district Headquarters are in Lutcher.
  • The Maintenance Shop is located at 9620 Highway 44, in the community of Union, 2 miles downstream from the Sunshine Bridge over the Mississippi.
  • Within the Pontchartrain Levee District today are 115 miles of Eastbank Mississippi River levee and 10 miles of Hurricane Protection Levee in St. Charles Parish.
  • The district extends from Baton Rouge to Kenner at the Jefferson Parish line, and from the Mississippi River, North, to the Amite River, then downstream along the Amite and Blind Rivers to Lake Maurepas, along the south shore of the lake to Pass Manchac, and east to Lake Pontchartrain, and along the shores of that lake to the Jefferson Parish line, then South to the Mississippi River.
  • Portions of six (6) parishes are included in the Pontchartrain Levee District, namely, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Ascension, St. James, St. John the Baptist and St. Charles.
  • The Board of Commissioners of the Pontchartrain Levee District is comprised of nine (9) board members consisting of one (1) board member for each of the six (6)¬†parishes, two (2) additional board members representing the Canadian National Railroad (formerly Illinois Central Railroad) and the Canadian National Railroad (formerly Louisville, N.O. & Texas Railroad) and one (1)¬†At-Large member.
  • The Board of Commissioners meet once a month at a regular board meeting along with various special committee meetings. All board and committee meetings are open to the public with dates and times posted outside the Lutcher office at least 24 hours prior to the meeting. The board has historically encouraged public attendance and comments at these meetings and allows such participation and comments to provide the framework for improving services, addressing concerns and for continuity in fulfilling board responsibilities.